Roman Sustov

Roman Sustov works in print graphics and book illustrations. He has more than twenty published books with his illustrations. Lives and works in Minsk. Member of the Union of Artists of the Republic of Belarus since 2005.
Works
Biography
Exhibitions
Critic's Review
Roman Sustov is a modern Belarusian artist, master of graphics. He works a lot and fruitfully in the technique of etching, creating ex-libris that enjoy great attention from collectors and lovers of this type of creativity. Combines different techniques: lithography, etched stroke, aquatint, dry needle and mezzo-tinto.

For a number of years, the artist does not part with pictorial compositions on given historical and mythological subjects, which are gradually collected in a thin, classically verified series. The high professionalism of Roman Sustov even allows us to analyze in detail the technical advantages of his works and the culture of working with the material, this is a matter of course, this is a kind of "peculiar world of the artist", where his ability to endless self-improvement is revealed. A keen sense of line and rhythm is clearly visible in his sheets.

He became the winner in the last two Biennales of Painting, Graphics and Sculpture in the category "Graphics" (Belarus) In 2019, Roman Sustov represented the Republic of Belarus at the 7th International Print Graphics Biennale in Guanglan (China). In the Republic of Belarus, it is represented exclusively by the ArtPort Gallery of Contemporary Art.

Born in 1977 in Minsk.
1989…1993 — children’s art school No. 1.
1992 … 1995 — Belarusian Art College No. 26.
1995…2001 — Belarusian Theater and Art Academy. Department of Graphics.
2001 … 2005 — Art workshops under the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Belarus.
since 2005, a member of the Union of Artists of the Republic of Belarus (Graphics Section).
since 2013, he has been a teacher at the Belarusian State Academy of Arts

"Extinct" series, 2021

Large formats

Collection of lithographs "Arrival"

The collection is based on a reinterpretation of the literary heritage of the Strugatsky brothers. The series is based on a philosophical understanding of the place of human consciousness in the universe and its relationship to space and time. The search for unearthly civilizations, an attempt to push the boundaries of understanding, raises a big question about the loneliness of man in the vast expanses of fantastic cold space.
"Wanderer" series, 2015 — 2016
The wanderer, as an image of the human consciousness wandering in the boundless expanses of space. The eternal question that torments our civilization: are we alone in this universe? The series is based on the idea of Strugatsky about the vertical evolution of humanity and the incredible possibilities of our mind to comprehend the mysterious and abstract.
"Time" series, 2015 — 2016
"Music" series, 2013 — 2014
The series is based on the idea that music is the most abstract art form invented by man. The effect of air vibrations, in different amplitudes and frequencies, on the consciousness and mood of a person is a fantastic feature of the mind, which is able to translate abstract information into emotions.
"Stalker" series, 2013 — 2014
"Middleage steampunk" series, 2012 — 2013
The series is based on the idea of transferring objects of biblical and ancient Greek mythology to the realities of the fantastic Middle Ages. The lithographs are made in the style of medieval drawings and geographical maps. The image of the ancient ark, which gathers people and various animals on its board, is complemented by elements of cult architecture, which creates a completely new reading of this theme. Religion, as a separate island, protected from the outside rapidly changing world. The Trojan Horse is also executed with elements of iconic Gothic architecture. Colossal mobile temple, has a double reading in its image…
"Soulsaver vehicle" series, 2014 — 2015
The series is based on humanity’s ancient fear of the finiteness of the world. Models of fictional, unreal temples are divided into three elements: air, earth and water. The combination of Gothic cult architecture with all sorts of steam mechanisms creates a fantastic image of soul-saving equipment. The lithographs are made in the style of Leonardo’s drawings. I wanted to create an image of accidentally found ancient manuscripts with drawings of a mysterious purpose.

Linocut

Small formats

"Prestine light" series
"Old toys" series

Eklibrises

2022
"The world of mezzo-tinto". National Center for Contemporary Arts, Minsk, Belarus.


2021
International Triennial of Small-format Exlibris and Printed Graphics "Monuments of the Culture of the World", Yekaterinburg, Russia.

"Art Minsk 2021", Palace of Art, Minsk, Belarus.

International project "Zodiac signs", Guanlan Museum of Printed Graphics


2020
International Print Festival LIFE N STYLE, Tbilisi, Georgia.

Exhibition "Graphics of young artists of Belarus", Tallinn, Estonia.

International project "Zodiac signs" two exhibitions Taiwan Contemporary Art Center and Macau private gallery.


2019
Exhibition "Hoffmann's Mystical Reality", St. Petersburg, Russia.

International Exhibition of Printed Graphics Ural Print Triennial 2019, Ufa, Russia.

"Arrival" personal exhibition of graphics, Tianjin, China.

"7th International Print Graphics Biennale", Guanlan, China.


2018
"Art Minsk 2018". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.

Exhibition of printed graphics "Mini-Midi print 2018". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.

"Silk road" International exhibition of Printed graphics, Dunhuang, China.

"Win-Win cooperation" international exhibition of printed graphics, Tianjin, China.

"ARKA" group exhibition of Belarusian printed graphics, Irealand, Cork, curator.

"Autumn Salon 2018". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.

"VI Biennale of Painting, Graphics and Sculpture". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus. 1st place in the category "Graphics".


2017
Group exhibition "Dreams". Palace of Art, Vitebsk, Belarus.

Personal exhibition "Arrival". National Art Museum of the Republic of Belarus, Minsk.

International exhibition of ex-libris "DEG 2017", Paderborn, Germany.

Group exhibition of printed graphics " Modernity and traditions "gallery " Clementinum", Prague, Czech Republic.

International Exhibition of Printed Graphics "YAC printing residency", Tianjin, China.

International Exhibition of Printed Graphics "Shenzhen printing museum", Shenzhen, China.

Group exhibition "Graphics 2017". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.


2016
Group exhibition of printed graphics "12 masters", Tianjin, China.

International Exhibition of ex-libris "FISAE 2016", Vologda, Russia.

"Autumn Salon 2016". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.

Group exhibition "Three persons", Ufa, Russia.

"V Biennale of Painting, Graphics and Sculpture". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus. 1st place in the category "Graphics".

International group exhibition of Printed Graphics. Xu Liaoyuan Modern Design Art Museum, Chengdu, China.


2015
"Message" group exhibition. Titanic Gallery, Vilnius, Lithuania.

25th International Biennial Exhibition of modern exlibris, Malbork, Poland.

Tokyo international mini-print triennial-international exhibition of small printing forms, Tokyo, Japan.

Personal exhibition gallery "Prosveta 1927", Varna, Bulgaria.

"Autumn Salon 2015". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.

Personal exhibition "Domek Miedziorytnika", Wroclaw, Poland.

Group exhibition "Tour de Belarus 2". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.

The second international engraving competition "In search of Paradise lost", Spain, Granada.


2014
3rd Biennale of Belarusian Art "Formazmest". Palace of Arts, Minsk, Belarus.

2nd Biennale of contemporary Belarusian Art "From square to Object".

International exlibris competition Island of Velikopolsky, Poland.

Solo exhibition "Shuohai art gallery", Tianjin, China.

Solo exhibition "Warnock fine art gallery", Palmsprings, USA.


2013
24th International Biennial Exhibition of modern exlibris, Malbork, Poland.

The first international engraving competition "In search of Paradise lost", Spain, Granada.
The works of the Belarusian artist Roman Sustov are always sharp and unexpected. For over ten years they have been enjoying attention and admiration of graphic art connoisseurs and amateurs. Roman Sustov entered the circles of actively working artists unexpectedly, his genius powerfully stirring the minds of public at large.

Roman Sustov was born in 1977 in Minsk to a family of artists. The foundation of his education was laid in art college. The follow-up study at Belarusian Academy of Arts (graduated in 2001) shaped the unique style to which Roman Sustov remains faithful now, after he created many works of art, received numerous awards and diplomas from prestigious exhibitions and contests. Having tried many graphic techniques — etching, lithography, linocut — in the early years of his work Roman Sustov created a series of expertly done linocuts after E.Th.A. Hoffmann’s fairytales. One of the linocuts — ‘Salamandr' gave general recognition and fame to the artist.

Using etching techniques, Roman Sustov creates ex libris which are hugely popular among collectors and amateurs of this type of art. The artist often blends different techniques: etched stroke, aquatint, dry point and mezzotint. All these combined lend the bookplates the richness of coloring and tone. Roman Sustov entered the world of ex libris after the bookplates lost their inventory and utilitarian character of bearing the book owner’s name and turned into a separate tenor of mini print collecting.

For several years the artist has been faithful to historic and mythological art compositions which gradually build into an exquisite and classically verified series. Roman Sustov’s high professionalism allows us not to scrutinize and dwell in detail about the technical virtues of his works and his unique art of material manipulation — these go without saying and form the artist’s universe which reflects his ability to self- perfection and sustainable development. He works confidently, easily arranging the space of the plate. His sharp feeling of rhythm and line manifests itself vividly in his creations. Roman Sustov never aims at striking his audience by resorting to novel plate forms, plate toning and other tricks; he simply features the world of his bright and vivid ideas as he feels. Figures and shapes in his works follow a slow rhythm, forming sculpture groups which vividly stand out against simple and laconic background. They either freeze in close order or slowly and gracefully move.

In the fascinating ex libris ‘Garden' for Joop Sliep the vague and dissipating image of an enchanting lady shows through the rich palette of composite handmade textures. The image has something hidden and untold and thus mysterious in the seemingly accidental though skillfully planned incompleteness of the drawing; non finita as the aesthetes would put it. The artist always gives much freedom for the imagination of his audience, as if luring the audience into his world of ideas, images and illusions. This ex libris with its thoroughly elaborated details has a charm of its own and a certain air of romanticism.

In some works, like for example ‘Pristine Awe' (op.1.№ 38), ‘Invincible' (op.1.№ 30) and ‘Above&beyond' (op.1.№ 51), the artist uses color as a composition element highlighting major sense tones and dominant details. It undoubtedly complements his somewhat ascetic approach to print color palette which resembles the one used in the Renaissance classical engraving works performed exclusively in black clear-cut strokes on white paper. This tendency was transferred to Sustov’s etching works from his huge expertise of linocut which employs exclusively black and white strokes and the skillful handling of chisel. While creating images, the artist sets a huge challenge by limiting his tools to etched strokes alone and even this way he produces an endless diversity of engraving types. I personally take it as a way of conservation and expansion of classical engraving expertise.

In the ex libris concerning ‘netsuke' made for S. Brodovych (op.1.№ 30) the figure of a deeply concentrated samurai defeating the dragon (the symbol of evil and vanity) by force of his inner energy immensely impresses the audience. The symbol of tranquility and pacification is frozen over its own reflection in the eternity. It’s a unique image which you never stop reading and learning.

As an experiment Roman Sustov created a set of six ex libris in linocut technique. These bookplates give a clear understanding of the diversity and finesse of multi-color lithography. This way the artist expresses his endless potential in the masterful use of different techniques; he is akin to a skilful musician who can play different instruments equally at ease. He sets no limits in the process of creating an image — he communicates with it directly.

Always unexpectedly and amazingly architectural elements appear in Roman Sustov’s works. They range from the façade a fantastic cathedral in the ex libris for Wouter van Gyzel (op.1.№ 3), the panoramic frieze of a Medieval town in the bookplates for G.P. (op.1.№ 19) and O.S. (op.1.№ 35) to the complex configuration of arches, aqueducts and rotundas forming a labyrinth in the work for Tjalling Vogelvanger (op.1.№ 10). These works convey the music of fantastic ancient towns and voices of strange inhabitants of the striking unreal world of the artist’s imagination.
All in all Roman Sustov has created about 60 bookplates, but his artistic interests go beyond mini print. He fruitfully works in the spheres of big print, book illustrations, painting, post stamps design and he is also known as a puppet theater decorator.

I hope that the unique extraordinary talent of young graphic artist Roman Sustov will develop and strengthen and we’ll never stop marveling at his new works.

Roman Sustov is a fantastic blend of classical technique and vast world of fantasies and images.
Oleg Sudlenkov
Роман Сустов
Click to order
Find out the cost
Total: 
Leave your phone number and we will call you back within a day and inform you about the cost of the work.

Or call the number: +375 29  133−30−95 (Viber, WhatsApp, Telegram)
Your phone number

Роман Сустов

Работы
БИО
Выставки
Рецензия критика
Роман Сустов — современный белорусский художник, мастер графики. Много и плодотворно работает в технике офорта, создавая экслибрисы, пользующиеся большим вниманием со стороны коллекционеров и любителей этого вида творчества. Совмещает разные техники: литография, травлёный штрих, акватинта, сухая игла и меццо-тинто.

В течении ряда лет художник не расстаётся с изобразительными композициями на заданные исторические и мифологические сюжеты, которые постепенно собираются в тонкую, классически выверенную серию. Высокий профессионализм Романа Сустова позволяет даже анализировать подробно технические достоинства его произведений и культуру работы с материалом, это само собой разумеющееся, это некий «своеобразный мир художника», где обнаруживается его способность к бесконечному самосовершенствованию. Острое чувство линии, ритма отчётливо проступает в его листах.

Стал победителем в двух последних Биеннале живописи, графики и скульптуры в номинации «Графика» (Беларусь) В 2019 году Роман Сустов представлял Республику Беларусь на 7-й Международной биеннале печатной графики в г. Гуанлан (Китай). В Республике Беларусь представляется эксклюзивно галереей современного искусства АртПорт.

Родился 1977 году в Минске.
1989…1993 — детская художественная школа № 1.
1992…1995 — Белорусский художественный коледж№ 26.
1995…2001 — Белорусская театрально художественная академия. Отделение графики.
2001…2005 — Художественные мастерские при Министерстве культуры РБ.
с 2005 года член Союза Художников Р Б (Секция графики).
с 2013 года преподаватель Белорусской государственной академии искусств

крупные форматы

средние форматы

малые форматы

КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ МЕРОПРИЯТИЯ (2013-2019):

2013
24th International Biennial Exhibition of modern exlibris. (Malbork, Poland).

Первый международный конкурс гравюры «В поисках потерянного рая» (Испания Гранада).


2014
3е бьеннале Белорусского искусства. «Формазмест» Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь).

2oe бьеннале современного Белорусского искусства «От квадрата к объекту»

Международный конкурс экслибриса Остров Великопольский (Poland).

Персональная выставка "Shuohai art gallery" (Tianjin, China).

Персональная выставка "Warnock fine art gallery" (Palmsprings, USA).


2015
«Послание» групповая выставка. Галерея «Титаник» (Вильнюс, Литва).

25th International Biennial Exhibition of modern exlibris. (Malbork, Poland).

Tokyo international mini-print triennial — международная выставка малых печатных форм (Tokyo, Japan)

Персональная выставка галерея «Просвета 1927» (Варна Болгария) "Осенний салон 2015". Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь)

Персональная выставка "Domek Miedziorytnika" (Вроцлав, Польша)

Групповая выставка "Tour de Belarus 2" Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь)

Второй международный конкурс гравюры «В поисках потерянного рая» (Испания Гранада).


2016
Групповая выставка печатной графики «12 masters» (Tianjin, China).

Международная выставка экслибриса «FISAE 2016»( Вологда, Россия).

"Осенний салон 2016". Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь).

Групповая выставка «Три персоны» г. Уфа, Россия «V биеннале живописи, графики и скульптуры» Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь). 1-ое место в номинации «Графика».

Международная групповая выставка печатной графики. Xu Liaoyuan Modern Design Art Museum, (Chengdu, China).


2017
Групповая выставка «Сны» Дворец искусства (Витебск, Беларусь).

Персональная выставка "Arrival" Национальный художественный музей Республики Беларусь, Минск.

Международная выставка экслибриса "DEG 2017" (Paderborn, Germany).

Групповая выставка печатной графики «Современность и традиции» галерея «Клементинум» Прага (Prague, Czech Republic).

Международная выставка печатной графики "YAC printing residency" (Tianjin, China).

Международная выставка печатной графики "Shenzhen printing museum" (Shenzhen, China).

Групповая выставка «Графика 2017» Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь).


2018
"Art Minsk 2018" Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь).

Выставка печатной графики «Mini-Midi print 2018» Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь).

"Silk road" международная выставка печатной графики (Dunhuang, China).

"Win-Win cooperation" международная выставка печатной графики (Tianjin, China).

"ARKA" групповая выставка белорусской печатной графики (Irealand, Cork) куратор.

"Осенний салон 2018". Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь).

«VI биеннале живописи, графики и скульптуры» Дворец искусств (г.Минск, Беларусь). 1место в номинации «Графика»


2019
«Arrival» персональная выставка графики (Tianjin, China) «7-я Международная биеннале печатной графики» (Guanlan, China).
Работы художника Романа Сустова, всегда острые неожиданные. Вот уже десять с лишним лет привлекают внимание знатоков и любителей графики. Он вошёл в круг активно действующих художников сразу, мощно и неожиданно.

Родился Роман Сустов в 1977 году в Минске в семье художников. Начальное художественное образование получил колледже искусств. А последующая учёба в Белорусской Академии искусств, которую он окончил в 2001 году, определила некоторые важные черты почерка Романа Сустова, остающимся неизменным и сейчас, когда сделано немало работ, получены премии и дипломы на престижных выставках и конкурсах. Изучив различные графические техники — офорт, литографию, линогравюру Роман Сустов на первом этапе своего творчества создаёт серию работ по мотивам сказок Э.Т. А. Гофмана, виртуозно выполненных в технике линогравюры. Одна из работ этой серии «Саламандр» стала своеобразной визитной карточкой художника.

Сейчас художник много и плодотворно работает в технике офорта, создавая экслибрисы, пользующиеся большим вниманием со стороны коллекционеров и любителей этого вида творчества. Иногда Роман совмещает разные техники, травлёный штрих, акватинта, сухая игла и меццотинто. Всё это сообщает оттискам богатство колорита и тона. Роман Сустов пришёл в мир экслибриса, когда он уже утратил инвентарно-утилитарный характер, как символ и знак владельца книги, а превратился в своеобразный, самостоятельный вид коллекционирования малой графики.

В течении ряда лет художник не расстаётся с изобразительными композициями на заданные исторические и мифологические сюжеты, которые постепенно собираются в тонкую, классически выверенную серию. Высокий профессионализм Романа Сустова позволяет даже анализировать подробно технические достоинства его произведений и культуру работы с материалом, это само собой разумеющееся, это некий «своеобразный мир художника», где обнаруживается его способность к бесконечному самосовершенствованию. Он работает уверенно, легко распоряжаясь пространством офортной доски. Острое чувство линии, ритма отчётливо проступает в его листах. Роман Сустов не стремится эпатировать зрителя нестандартными формами досок, затяжками при печати и прочими ухищрениями, он просто показывает мир своих искрящихся творений таким, каким он ему представляется. Фигуры в его работах движутся в медленном ритме, составляя своего рода скульптурные группы, чётко выделяющиеся на простых и лаконичных фонах. Они, то застывают сомкнутыми силуэтами, то медленно движутся мимо нас.

Прекрасен eхlibris «Garden» для Joop Sliep, чарующий образ незнакомки, растворяясь, проступает сквозь богатейшую палитру сложных, рукотворных фактур. Есть что-то недосказанное и поэтому загадочное в, казалось бы, случайной, но виртуозной незавершенности рисунка (non finita), как сказали бы эстеты. Автор всегда оставляет огромное поле для работы фантазии зрителя, как бы заманивая его в мир своих идей и иллюзий. В этой работе, с тщательно проработкой деталей есть своё очарование и определённый флёр романтизма.

В некоторых работах, таких как «Pristine Awe"(op.l.№ 38), «Invincible"(op.l.№ 30) and «Above&beyond"(op.l.№ 51) художник применяет цвет, как элемент композиции, ярким лучом вырывая основные смысловые и доминантные детали. Это несомненно дополняет его несколько аскетичный подход к цветовой гамме эстампа, которая по своему духу напоминает работы классиков гравюры возрождения когда существовало только понятие чёткого штриха и белой бумаги. Эта тенденция была привнесена Сустовым в офорт из его огромного опыта работы с линогравюрой, где существуют только чёрный и белый штрих и виртуозное владение резцом. Автор ставит перед собой тяжелейшие задачи, ограничиваясь для создания образа только одной техникой травлёного штриха и показывает нескончаемое богатство разнообразных типов гравировки. В этом я вижу сохранение и приумножение огромного опыта истории классической гравюры.

В eхlibris на тему «нэцкэ» исполненной для S. Brodovych (op.l.№ 30) фигура война (самурая) углублённого в себя, побеждающего дракона (символ зла и суеты) силой внутренней энергии впечатляют зрителя. Символ спокойствия и умиротворения замирает над собственным отражением во времени. Создан уникальный образ, который можно читать бесконечно.

В качестве эксперимента Роман Сустов создаёт сюиту из шести екслибрисов выполненных в технике литографии. Эти знаки дают чёткое представление о разнообразии и тонкости использования средств многоцветной литографии. Тем самым автор показывает нам свой безграничный потенциал в области владения различными техниками, он как хороший музыкант мульти-инструменталист способен играть на различных инструментах с одинаковой лёгкостью. Для него нет никакой преграды в процессе создания образа — он общается с ним на прямую.

Интересно и всегда неожиданно Роман Сустов использует в своих работах архитектурные мотивы, это может быть фасад фантастического собора как в eхlibris для Wouter van Gyzel (op.l.№ 3), своеобразный панорамный фриз средневекового города как в знаках для G.P. (op.l.№ 19) и O.S. (op.l.№ 35) или сложнейшая конструкция арок, акведуков и ротонд, составляющих лабиринт, в работе для Tjalling Vogelvanger (op.l.№ 10). В этих работах слышится музыка древних фантастических городов и голоса странных жителей этого удивительного, ирреального мира фантазии художника.

Роман Сустов создал в общей сложности около 60 boockplates, но круг его интересов не ограничивается только малым форматом печати. Он плодотворно работает в станковой графике, книжной иллюстрации, живописи, создаёт почтовые марки и известен как художник кукольного театра. Роман Сустов это фантастический сплав классической техники с бесконечным миром фантазии и образов.

Олег Судленков

Click to order
Cart
Узнать стоимость
Total: 
Оставьте номер телефона и мы перезвоним в течение дня и сообщим стоимость произведения.

Или позвоните на номер: +375 29 133−30−95 (Viber, WhatsApp, Telegram)
Ваш телефон